Centre for Energy Management & Testing Systems for Electrical Apparatus (CEMATEA)

The Centre for Energy Management and Testing Systems for Electrical Apparatus (CEMATEA) was established in 2002 to provide technical services to industries and other organisations, and promote industry-institute interactions. One of the unique initiatives of the Centre is the periodical testing of electrical apparatus like Transformers, Switch Gears, Protective Relays, Instrument Transformers, Energy Meters and other electrical apparatus in all electrical installations on site and off site to ensure efficient and safe operations of electrical systems. A Test Centre for Electrical Apparatus is authorised by Electrical Inspectorate, Govt. of Karnataka.

Electrical and Electronics Engineering

Here’s a brief insight  into the various publications and achievements of the faculty members of the Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering.

Electrical & Electronics Engineering

The Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering has multiple laboratories fitted with up-to-date equipment and conveniences to help students with their practical studies.

Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering

Electrical and Electronics Engineering Department

The Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering established in the year 1958 with Bachelor’s degree in “Electrical & Electronics Engineering”, is one of the first few departments at The National Institute of Engineering, Mysuru. The department made a humble beginning in 1958 with only four staff members and two laboratories housed in an area of about 900 sq. mts. In the silver jubilee year of the institute in 1971, a postgraduate programme leading to master’s degree in “Power Systems” was started. In the year 1987, the department was recognized as research centre to carry out Ph.D programme. Further in the golden jubilee year of the institute in 1996, another postgraduate programme titled Computer Applications in Industrial Drives” was started. 

In the year 2002, the department established a centre of excellence “Centre for Energy Management and Test Systems for Electrical Apparatus” (CEMATEA), authorized by electrical inspectorate, Government of Karnataka to carryout periodical testing of various electrical installations in industries and other organizations in and around Mysuru. 

In the year 2007, the institute was awarded autonomous status for all the undergraduate and postgraduate programmes by Visvesvaraya Technological University, Belagavi, Karnataka. The department has been a continuous beneficiary of financial assistance over the years by NIE management, state and central governments. In the year 2005, under Technical Education Quality Improvement Programme-I (TEQIP-I), the department received a funding of about 0.8 Crores to upgrade the facilities of under graduate programme. Further under TEQIP-II and TEQIP-III in the years, 2012 and 2017 respectively, the department received financial assistance of 1.0 Crore and 0.6 Crores. The department over the years has established fourteen laboratories with state-of-the-art facility worth over 5 Crores. Under TEQIP-III the department has also been identified as a mentor for the department of Electrical Engineering of Rajakiya Engineering College, Banda, Uttar Pradesh.

Till now more than 3000 graduates, 700 post graduates, and 25 Ph.D.’s have acquired degrees from the department. The department has produced world renowned academicians, technocrats, entrepreneurs and sportsmen. Padma Vibhushana Sri. N.R. Narayana Murthy, an iconic figure is a proud alumnus of the department. Other legendary alumni include Padmashree Sri. EAS Prasanna, Ace off spinner, Sri. Kumara Malavalli, Founder & CEO of Brocade communications, USA, Dr. Y.V. Venkatesh, former Professor, IISc Bengaluru. The bright stars include Dr. P.S. Nagendra Rao, Professor IISc Bengaluru, Dr. R. Nagaraja, MD, PRDC Bengaluru, Sri. Jay Puller, Founder and CEO, Pramathi Technologies, Sri. J.P. Nagaraj, Former Head, L&T Mysuru, Sri Siva Gopal Valluri, Former Scientist, ISRO, Dr.K. Balaraman, Director General, National Institute of Wind Energy Chennai.

The department is honoured to have Sri. N.R. Narayana Murthy and Sri. Siva Gopal Valluri, proud alumni as Directors on the Board of Management of the Institute. With the blessings of the founders and financial assistance from NIE management, the departments of Electrical and Electronics Engineering and Electronics and Communications Engineering are now housed in NRN School of Electrical Sciences, which was inaugurated in the month of March 2016. 

The department has a vision to become internationally recognized center of excellence imparting quality education in electrical engineering for the benefit of academia, industry and society at large.